Cheri Beasley for North Carolina –

Press Releases

Nearly 70 Leaders From Across North Carolina Endorse Cheri Beasley for U.S. Senate

RALEIGH — Nearly 70 leaders from across North Carolina today endorsed Cheri Beasley for U.S. Senate. The public servants and community advocates praised Cheri for her commitment to North Carolina and highlighted her record of fighting for all North Carolinians. 

“Cheri’s devoted her life to service to North Carolina and her values of hard work, standing up for what’s right and fairness are exactly what we need in the United States Senate,” Representative Pricey Harrison said. “Cheri has the leadership, tenacity and focus to tackle the toughest challenges we face. She will fight to ensure North Carolina comes out of this pandemic stronger, and will also prepare us for the future by improving education, taking meaningful action on climate change, and making sure opportunities are available for North Carolinians all across our state.”

“For too long, our leaders in Washington have put special interests ahead of North Carolinians,” former North Carolina Democratic Party Chair Representative Patsy Keever said. “Especially as we recover from this pandemic, we need Cheri Beasley fighting in the U.S. Senate to make sure working people get a fair shake — like health care they can afford, and jobs that pay a fair wage. That’s why I’m excited to get to work to send Cheri Beasley to the U.S. Senate, and I hope every North Carolinian will join me.”

“North Carolina needs a leader who will fight for opportunities for all of us,” former State Senator H.M. “Mickey” Michaux said. “From health care, to jobs, to education, the stakes are too high for us to sit on the sidelines. We need Cheri Beasley in the Senate, because in tough times like these I know Cheri’s commitment to helping regular North Carolinians is unshakeable.”

“I’m grateful to have earned the support of so many dedicated leaders across our state as we build this grassroots campaign to fight for opportunities for all North Carolinians,” Cheri said. “The door of opportunity should be open to everyone in our state who works hard — not just the wealthy and well-connected. Together, we’re going to deliver that message loud and clear in Washington.”


Former North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Henry Frye

Greensboro Community Leader Shirley Frye

Former Durham Superior Court Judge Elaine O’Neal

Former District Court Judge James T. Bryan

Former North Carolina Democratic Party Chair Wade Smith

Lillian’s List Co-Founder Laura B. Edwards   

AAPI Democrats President Dr. Gracie Galloway   

State Senator Ben Clark (Cumberland, Hoke)

State Senator Kirk DeViere (Cumberland)

State Senator Michael Garrett (Guilford)

Former State Senator & Representative H.M. “Mickey” Michaux (Durham)

State Senator Gladys Robinson (Guilford)

Former State Senator Terry Van Duyn (Buncombe)

State Senator Joyce Waddell (Mecklenburg)

Representative Gale Adcock (Wake)

Representative Kelly Alexander Jr. (Mecklenburg)

Representative Deb Butler (New Hanover)

Representative Linda Cooper-Suggs    (Wilson)

Representative Carla Cunningham (Mecklenburg)

Representative Allison Dahle (Wake)

Representative Terence Everitt (Wake)

Representative Susan Fisher (Buncombe)

Representative Zack Hawkins (Durham)

Representative Terry Garrison (Granville, Vance, Warren)

Representative Charles Graham (Robeson)

Representative Pricey Harrison (Guilford)

Representative Verla Insko (Orange)

Representative & Former Judge Abe Jones (Wake)

Former Representative & Former Chair of the North Carolina Democratic Party Patsy Keever (Buncombe)

Representative Marvin Lucas (Cumberland)

Representative Nasif Majeed (Mecklenburg)

Representative Marcia Morey    (Durham)

Representative Raymond Smith Jr. (Sampson & Wayne)

Representative Evelyn Terry (Forsyth)

Representative Brian Turner (Buncombe)

Former Representative Jane Whilden (Buncombe)

Former Durham Mayor Bill Bell

Fayetteville Mayor Mitch Colvin   

Carrboro Mayor Lydia Lavelle   

Durham Mayor Steve Schewel   

Canton Mayor    Zeb Smathers   

Hillsborough Mayor Jennifer Weaver   

Carrboro Mayor Pro Tem Barbara Foushee   

Carrboro Council Member Randee Haven-O’Donnell   

Carrboro Council Member Susan Romaine   

Carrboro Council Member Damon Seils   

Chapel Hill Council Member Jessica Anderson

Chapel Hill Council Member Allen Buansi

Chapel Hill Council Member Tai Huynh

Chapel Hill Council Member Michael Parker       

Chapel Hill Council Member Karen Stegman

Former Cumberland County Commissioner Billy King

Durham Council Member Javiera Caballero   

Durham Council Member DeDreana Freeman   

Durham Mayor Pro Tem Jillian Johnson

Durham City Council Member Mark-Anthony Middleton 

Former Durham County Register of Deeds Willie Covington   

Durham County Commissioner & Chair, Board of Commissioners Brenda Howerton

Durham County Commissioner & Vice Chair, Board of Commissioners Wendy Jacobs   

Durham County Commissioner Nida Allam   

Durham County Commissioner Heidi Carter   

Monroe Council Member Surluta Anthony        

Orange County Board of Commissioners Chair Renee Price

Orange County Commissioner Jamezetta Bedford

Scotland County Commissioner Pastor Darrel “BJ” Gibson Jr.

Wake County Commissioner Shinica Thomas 

Former Wake County Commissioner John Burns